Why I Ditched Dip Brow (and What I Am Using Now)

If you are into makeup, or even just eyebrow maintenance at all, there is a decent chance you have either heard of or used Anastasia’s Dip-Brow Pomade to fill in your eyebrows. There is a giant hype around this product, and I too found myself returning to it time and again. Yet, before my third re-purchase it really hit me… why am I buying this again? Does this product even work like I want it to? After finally branching out from the norm of what everyone around me seemed to be using, I never looked back once. Here’s what I’m using now and how the switch stepped up my eyebrow game.

sQ2QSL6nJLd1mjSoCA5-S9fG6JE5sJEFz8bnsq9ZGX4BStH7qbXtYjsjrUXpFtnGV_HK_9mAuoMdDhi4QvPN7kHo2bERclc1eb5_iwUCgQN-YMgRbA1sPUA9WMZjTMl-YgF-GUIiOgVeLJZczXxztfuE8TgUvhFvWmwt03gnOTZpcQv9yJlNAox8cK9L-JzP_1eKjRxJ04ZkX17KHc35vM

So here is a picture of what my eyebrows look like now with my new purchase.

xuvvMW7owt9ORgCFN_-7ggiVIcZ6iXExXylSedLcbxQhNqPh72jRFjRgXyu7hc5q88vrB6SU4e2H0A8Oajgs9HiBupWWDH5tO3GytGRLYT29c96NiqOLTyKrUMvjWuN2U4sWRFn9jTnzTxDtcRa__V0XM5mB6qSofI1lPmaXXpL5GgZBv5hpb91AM8tJO7jBMS8mzyPcmiXjmeGCSmnXM4

Here’s a before picture while I used Dip-brow but it is terrible quality and cropped because, well, I didn’t take before pictures with poorly filled eyebrows. It was pretty tragic.

As you can see I’ve never had a problem with eyebrow shape but with naturally blonde brows I needed them to be visible. Dip-Brow worked for me in the beginning, but after about three weeks I would notice the product got sticky and refused to cooperate. I wouldn’t even be using a lot but it would look as if the substance was caked on throughout my brows. I wanted visible eyebrows, not visible product. I’ll admit, in pictures it wasn’t so bad because all you saw was their shape. However, in natural sunlight it was a mess. I even asked multiple makeup artist friends if they have ever had a similar problem and they all agreed: Dip-Brow gets a weird texture after a while. Given, it probably didn’t help that I was using the Pomade in Blonde and that color is weird in itself.

KLp6YRbvvhOPSBWDf0gIPNngBCqbizK_ah4_UWCIcbdm3prdBPhZjBDwbvWzJTCnXzVVuC-eDvp1NGkfXEyoFJzahgW75OAdHX_PSAZ86pcrdCyWH-IVq_kUTkmoUxPMVrXxstbPgHEg6KYGXfNi7WLf3J6Gl2cZ1dAkgH1YAKEofPaO8upT01_dkn_iyzsMDAeb4RzmjXMWWwKfkZ2lZv

I would find myself not even being able to finish the containers because of how weird the texture was. Look at all that wasted product and money! I was so corrupted by what I thought was “popular” and “all the beauty gurus were using” that I didn’t even acknowledge that it was not working as well as it could have for me.

qxox2dEEb5_sUfhDxcrfk81CebI3Cnmzd7ClkPrjh-7V3MjugD6XZdX3HnlL-0EbYpCsMeNGVCCpsToJf9Hx8ZsNaJdLysQITabfZgaw9L4CcctrEdphMmYFmoLGkCwWywKoCabtSNS6WwIh3sd6WTANImb9KusURWAhOnsTTyBNkxOXugfl0MJCYp2C5cX_bRz7ZgWQnAENeW5jMpq2gu

Now I found my new Holy Grail of eyebrow product. Upon recommendation of a friend I tried the Sephora brand eyebrow pencil in “Rich Chestnut.” It glides on smooth and easy, blends to look natural, and has a beautiful color. On the other end of the pencil is a small brow brush that gets the job done. It is even waterproof and stays on all day, much better than the Dip-Brow Pomade ever could for me.

I know it probably helps that my eyebrows are darker now after dying my hair red, but I can assure you, the product as a whole just works a lot better for my personal use. I can finally take photos where I feel confident about how I look (and get comments like “WOW eyebrow goals!”) So sorry Dip-Brow, we had a good run. But it’s over now and we are never ever getting back together.

Has anyone else ever had problems with the Dip-Brow product or are you sticking with it? Let me know!

XO,

Britt

3 thoughts on “Why I Ditched Dip Brow (and What I Am Using Now)

Leave a Reply

