Makeup on Outdoorsy Trips: Which Products To Pocket and Skip

11695353_10204820723981358_7659788793176104170_n-1

Hello fellow bloggers! So I just got back from a beautiful week long vacation in Maine (pictures to come) and realized how tough it is to wear makeup on trips that require a lot of outdoor activities. What makes this task even more difficult is when you go on trips like this with a family that isn’t your own, who get ready in two minutes, and don’t understand your beauty routine. Obviously I didn’t want to wear a full face of makeup going tubing, but what about lounging around on the lake? Or early morning breakfasts with my boyfriend’s entire family? I don’t wear makeup to impress others, it gives me confidence I enjoy. So how did I go about “putting on my face” when the only other girlfriend on the trip wore no makeup everyday? These quick and simple necessity products saved my butt.


  1. Concealer- Mally Cancellation Concealer.  I basically wore no foundation on the trip; with biking, laying out in the Sun, and much more it was unlikely to stay on my face anyway. To reduce my getting-ready time while maintaining a fresh face I just added some concealer under my eyes and on any noticeable, red blemish. PRESTO CHANGO! I looked and felt better in seconds. (This concealer comes with a setting powder, which is absolutely magical, so even if you already have a favorite concealer the powder in this is enough to buy it anyway.)

  2. Waterproof Mascara- Covergirl Clump Crusher in Water Resistant. Having blonde eyelashes,  a little mascara can take me from looking sick to feminine. Waterproof proves to be a smart decision when you know you are going to have a long, active, sweaty day.
  3. Waterproof eyebrow pencil- Sephora Retractable Brow Pencil in Rich Chestnut (waterproof). Filling in eyebrows takes a short amount of time and can really transform your face. You don’t have to go all-out Hollywood glam, but just keeping a well-groomed brow makes such a difference. I have been raving about this brow product since I bought it, and even after falling off a high-speed tube into a lake, I still had picture perfect brows. Score.
  4. Lip stain- YSL Glossy Stain. Not necessarily a bright red lip like I have in this fourth of July photo, but a little darker than your natural color can do the trick and take you from feeling drab to fab. YSL’s lip stains have my heart because, at least mine, stays on forever and smells like wine. Perfect if you don’t want to think about reapplying.

In my opinion, even though I am a cat-eyed diva, skip the eyeliner unless you know you won’t be put in a situation where it will come off and make you look like a drowned clown. Excessive eyeshadow and blush isn’t necessary in a quick makeup routine either because if you plan on being active you will either look overdone or already have a natural blush of your own!

Overall, if you only have a few seconds to get ready these are the makeup items I would choose to go explore the outdoors. You want to enjoy life with confidence, but not be worrying about if your makeup is running. If you had a little extra time some quick bronzer or highlighter could really wake-up your face! But if you’re like me, sunscreen always takes priority. #NoSunburnForThisGirl

What’s your favorite waterproof product? Do you have certain makeup you will always favor if you’re in a rush? Comment and let me know!

XO,

Brittany

3 thoughts on “Makeup on Outdoorsy Trips: Which Products To Pocket and Skip

  1. I love this post! It’s so helpful, I really want to try out Mally’s concealer! I’ve never tried that brand, but it sounds so great! You’re so right about the eyebrows, they transform a face! I’m on the lookout for some good brow products, so I might have to pick up one of those pencils from Sephora! ❤

    Like

    1. I just saw this now girl I’m sorry but ah thank you so much! I’m so glad it helped you. And you should totally try their brow pencils, they blend beautifully and have great colors! XO

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

