The Saturation of “Liking”

So Instagram just added a bunch of new features, including the new ability to “like” comments. It was cool for five minutes until a thought crossed my head, “holy cow, is this the end of my generation’s social skills?”

Yeah, maybe that’s a bit harsh. But hear me out: with the ability to like comments on all social media platforms, it is furthering the gap of communication skills? Think about it. If you can just let someone know that you acknowledge and appreciate something they said by just pressing a little heart, is it taking away the beauty of written words? Does a little heart display the same gratitude that a heartfelt message does?

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-7-44-00-pm
Source: BuzzFeed News “People Are Excited That You Can Finally Like Comments on Instagram”

Social media is growing to the point that real life experiences are taking a hit. People sit together in a room but have their faces stuffed into their phones instead of talking. I can’t hate on it completely, because as a millennial who grew  up in this technological storm I’d be a hypocrite if I pretended I’m not guilty of being absorbed in media myself… clearly, as I sit and type this to the internet.

Yet, I can’t stop thinking about the fact that we’re making things less and less interactive in terms of personal and intelligent content. People are less likely to talk if they can do something simpler. With this new feature am I losing genuine and memorable statements from friends and strangers? Will we forfeit the display of sincere gratitude towards people who comment to say “you are beautiful”, “I miss you so much”, or “This is so cool man you’re my idol”?  I know if I could choose a response from someone I cared about, I would pick words over a “liked” notification.

I know that we’re not at a total loss yet, and the ability to comment has not been taken away, but it’s something to think about. It just seems  like the beginning step to an empty and colder future to me.

Do you have any thoughts on this? Let me know friends.

XO,

Britt

Leave a Reply

