Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers still got it

If you’re around my age there’s probably a few legendary bands or artists that you’ve accepted you will never see. Even the ones that are still alive have reached such an immortal level that tickets are outrageously expensive. Some of my list of un-seeable legends includes Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, Roger Waters, and Tom Petty. Until last weekend, where I got to check the Heartbreakers box off my list.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.00.19 PM

I had no idea what to expect. No idea how Tom’s voice held up over the years, no idea if the band still had the same groove, and no idea what hits they would play for their 40th anniversary. From the first note to the last I was blown away.

IMG_0687

Everyone sounded just as good, if not better, than the recordings I’ve been listening to since I was young. I was able to hear Mary Jane’s Last Dance, I Won’t Back Down, Free Fallin’, Learning to Fly, Refugee, Runnin’ Down a Dream… wait… I forget every Tom Petty song is a hit. So you get the point. For me though, the concert highlight was hearing “You Got Lucky.” As Tom so graciously put it to a younger fan in front, “We’re about to play a song we haven’t played in decades. You’re too young to know it, sweetheart, but we sure are glad you’re here.”

In fact, I was most shocked at how witty Tom Petty was. He explained how they still call Steve Ferrone the “new guy” because he’s only been around 25 years. He also explained that the next song was a request… a “request from him”… but it still counted. I chuckled.
IMG_0688

Naturally, I left my seat in the back to run up to front row by the end of the show. Would you expect anything else from me? I had the time of my life at the show I never thought I’d get to see. Now, as I dawn my Heartbreakers laptop sticker with a stronger sense of honesty, I am fully aware I would’ve been the biggest Tom Petty fan girl back in the day. I feel no shame.

-B

Leave a Reply

